- Massachusetts Headlights Laws
Lighting laws in Massachusetts
Notice! This page contains only a list of recommendations. Kensun does not give any LEGAL advice. Please be sure to refer to a lawyer, local DOT or Police Department for further assistance.
MASSACHUSETTS GENERAL LAWS
Department of Transportation
1) If there is not sufficient light within the traveled portion of the highway to make clearly visible all substantial objects within a distance of at least 350 feet, no motor vehicle shall be operated unless it is equipped with two lighted headlamps of approximately equal candle power which throw sufficient light ahead to make clearly visible all substantial objects upon the roadway within a distance of 115 feet.
2) Whenever there is sufficient light within the traveled portion of the highway to make clearly visible all substantial objects for a distance of 350 feet, and whenever the operator of a vehicle approaches an oncoming vehicle within 500 feet, the operator shall regulate the headlamps so that no dangerous or dazzling light shall rise to a height greater than 42 inches above a surface of uniform grade, when measured 75 feet or more ahead of the lamps.
Every automobile operated during the period from one half an hour after sunset to one half an hour before sunrise, and during any other period when visibility is reduced by atmospheric conditions so as to render dangerous further operation without lights being displayed, shall display at least two lighted white headlamps with at least one mounted at each side of the front of the vehicle or if parked within the limits of a way at least one white or amber light on the side of the automobile nearer the center of the way.
No such red light shall be mounted or displayed on such vehicle until proper application has been made to the registrar by the head of the fire department and a written permit has been issued and delivered to the owner and operator. In the event that the operator is not the registered owner of the vehicle, no permit shall be issued until said owner forwards to the registrar a written statement certifying that he has knowledge that such red light will be mounted and displayed on said vehicle.
Any person operating a vehicle upon which flashing, rotating or oscillating red lights herein authorized are mounted shall have the permit for said lights upon his person or in the vehicle in some easily accessible place. Upon termination of the duties which warranted the issuance of the permit, the head of the fire department shall immediately notify the registrar who shall forthwith revoke such red light permit.
No person shall sell, offer for sale or install on, or in, any motor vehicle or trailer, any component, device or substance, other than quartz-halogen lights, which does not comply with the federal motor vehicle safety standard, if any, established for such component, device or substance. Nothing in this act shall prevent the registrar from prescribing minimum standards for any component, device, or substance for which no federal motor vehicle safety standard is or has been established and no person shall sell, offer for sale or install on, or in, any motor vehicle or trailer, any such component, device or substance which does not comply with the said standards so prescribed.